The House

The History

The history of Palazzo Salis in Soglio starts in 1630 with the construction by knight Baptista von Salis. His descendants expanded the „Casa Battista“ 1701 into the stately home which still stands today in the middle of the tranquil mountain village. In 1797, as Napoleon separated the Valtelline and Chiavenna from the Grisons free state, many possessions of the family were lost and the family’s revenues from services in foreign armies dried up. Therefore the Salis were forced to enter new careers and eventually left Soglio. However, until today the house still belongs to the Salis family. In 1876 the mansion and its original furnishing became an inn. Preserved carefully over the years, the Palazzo Salis was awarded the title of „Historic Hotel of the Year“ by ICOMOS in 1998 and since 2004 is one of the founding members of Swiss Historic Hotels.

The Garden

The garden of the Hotel Palazzo Salis dates back to the years 1630/1701. The grounds are characterized by elaborately trimmed boxwood hedges which establish a clear order in the garden. Simultaneously, angled sections were built in which old fruit trees, shrub peonies, bushes and blooming perennials break the strict patterns. The hotel gardens most prominent element are the two redwood trees which were imported from America in 1884 and today shape the image of the entire village.
The garden was awarded the Schulthess garden prize in 2009.

Art and Culture

As Palazzo Salis was turned into a guest house and hotel in 1876, the house found its new destiny in sheltering travellers and seekers of rest and relaxation. And they came; amongst them the visual artists Giovanni Segantini, Alberto Giacometti, Hans Beat Wieland, the writers Rainer Maria Rilke and Hermann Burger, the literature critic Joseph Victor Widmann or the film maker Daniel Schmid.

Segantini used to say: „Soglio, la soglia del Paradiso.“

In keeping up with these illustrious guests, the visual arts, literature and music are still an inherent part of the palazzo and its environment.
The „edizione Palazzo Salis“ association organizes cultural events at Palazzo Salis and in Soglio during the summer season – always in dialogue with the location and with focus on the contemporary artistic work.

Hotel Palazzo Salis – Musikzimmer

Newsletter Anmeldung

* Pflichtfelder
Anrede *
E-Mail Format *

Das Haus

Die Geschichte

Die Geschichte des Palazzo Salis in Soglio beginnt 1630 mit dem Bau durch Ritter Baptista von Salis. Dessen Nachkommen erweiterten die «Casa Battista» 1701 zu dem stattlichen Haus, wie es heute noch mitten im beschaulichen Bergdorf steht. Als 1797 Napoleon das Veltlin und Chiavenna vom Bündner Freistaat abtrennte, gingen viele Besitztümer verloren und die Einkünfte der Familie aus Diensten in fremden Heeren versiegten. So waren die Salis gezwungen, neue Berufe zu ergreifen und verliessen schliesslich Soglio. Bis heute ist das Haus jedoch im Besitz der Familie von Salis. 1876 wurde das Herrschaftshaus mit samt seiner originalen Ausstattung zum Gasthaus. Über die Jahre hinweg sorgsam bewahrt, erhielt der Palazzo Salis im Jahr 1998 vom ICOMOS die Auszeichnung «Historisches Hotel des Jahres» und gehört seit 2004 zu den Gründungsmitgliedern von Swiss Historic Hotels.

Der Garten

Der Garten vom Hotel Palazzo Salis stammt aus den Jahren 1630/1701. Die Anlage wird geprägt durch kunstvoll geschnittene Buchshecken, welche dem Garten eine klare Ordnung verleihen. Gleichzeitig entstehen verwinkelte Kompar­timente, in denen alte Obstbäume, Baumpäonien, Sträucher und Blütenstauden die strenge Ordnung durchbrechen. Auffälliges Gestaltungselement des Hotelgartens sind die beiden Mammutbäume, die 1884 aus Amerika importiert wurden und heute das ganze Dorfbild prägen.
Der Garten wurde 2009 mit dem Schulthess Gartenpreis ausgezeichnet.

Kunst und Kultur

Als aus dem Palazzo Salis 1876 ein Gasthaus und Hotel wurde fand das Haus eine neue Bestimmung als Herberge Reisender und Erholung Suchender. Und sie kamen; unter ihnen die Bildenden Künstler Giovanni Segantini, Alberto Giacometti, Hans Beat Wieland, die Literaten Rainer Maria Rilke und Hermann Burger, der Literaturkritiker Joseph Victor Widmann und der Filmemacher Daniel Schmid.

Segantini pflegte zu sagen: "Soglio, la soglia del Paradiso."

Anknüpfend an die illustren Gäste früherer Tage ist Bildende Kunst, Literatur und Musik auch heute wieder ein fester Bestandteil des Palazzos und seines Umfeldes.
Der Verein «edizione Palazzo Salis» veranstaltet während der Sommersaison Kulturanlässe im Palazzo Salis und in Soglio – immer im Dialog mit dem Ort und mit dem Fokus auf das zeitgenössische Kunstschaffen.

Hotel Palazzo Salis – Musikzimmer

Newsletter Anmeldung

* Pflichtfelder
Anrede *
E-Mail Format *